AMATEUR BASEBALL Lastrup wins East playoff title | | Brainerd, Minnesota

AMATEUR BASEBALL Lastrup wins East playoff title

Posted: July 25, 2011 - 9:07pm

LASTRUP — Rick Schlieman and Dustin Schmaltz each had three hits for Lastrup as the  Lakers won the East Division playoff championship by defeating the Buckman Billygoats 8-3 in the second game Sunday.

Scott Janson went 2-4 with a home run, two RBIs and two runs for the Lakers.

Mark Kahl and Warren Gall had three hits apiece for Buckman. Travis Kahl and Jeremy Monson homered for the Billygoats.

Reggie Litke earned his second save of the day, pitching the final 2.2 innings. Dylan Pittman got the win, going 6.1 innings.  

Lastrup will be the East's No. 1 seed in next weekend's Region 8C tournament at Pierz. The Lakers will play at 11 a.m. against West No. 2 seed Upsala. Buckman will play West No. 1 Sobieski at 1:30 p.m. Sunday.


Buckman 3 13 1

Lastrup   8 12 1

WP: Dylan Pittman. Sv: Reggie Litke. LP: Mark Kahl.


Game One

Lastrup 3, Buckman 0

PIERZ — Scott Janson pitched eight shutout innings for the win, allowing just three hits, and Reggie Litke worked the ninth for the save as Lastrup blanked Buckman 3-0 in Sunday’s first game.

Lastrup scored all three of its runs in the third. Reggie Litke made it 1-0 with an RBI groundout. Rick Schlieman and Jason Sadlovsky hit back-to-back RBI doubles to make it 3-0.

Jason Sadlovsky, Dustin Schmaltz and Nathan Janson each had two hits for the Lakers.


Buckman 0 3 2

Lastrup   3 9 3

WP: Scott Janson. Sv: Reggie Litke. LP: Jeremy Monson.