HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL: Osseo's Tusler named Mr. Football | BrainerdDispatch.com | Brainerd, Minnesota

HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL: Osseo's Tusler named Mr. Football

Posted: December 15, 2012 - 12:35am

Bridgeport Tusler, a running back/defensive back from Osseo High School, was named Mr. Football for the 2012 season by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association Dec. 9.

His accomplishments at Osseo include:

• 2-year team captain.

• Led Metro area with eight interceptions, one returned for a touchdown.

• Rushed for 1,173 yards and 16 touchdowns, 18 receptions for 243 yards and three touchdowns.

• Punt return average of 25 yards with two touchdowns.

• More than 3,000 career offensive yards.

• 12 career interceptions.

• Northwest Suburban Conference and special teams player of year.

• KARE-11 all-metro and player of year.

• StarTribune all-metro and player of year.

• Pioneer Press all-state.

• Minnesota Vikings all-state.

• Associated Press all-state and AP player of year.

Other finalists:

• Marley Allison, Edina, WR/DB/RET

• Jake Disterhaupt, Moose Lake-Willow River, RB/LB/DB

• Chase Morlock, Moorhead, RB/LB

• James Onwualu, Cretin-Derham Hall, RB/WR/DB

• Noah Scarver, Mpls. Washburn, TE/DE

• Shaun Schindler, Hutchinson, LB/RB,

• Brett Watercott, Becker, WR/DB,

• Jake Wieneke, Maple Grove, WR,

• Alex Wood, Lakeville North, LB/FB,

Previous Mr. Football winners

• 2011: Philip Nelson, Mankato West

• 2010: Peter Westerhaus, Holy Family

• 2009: Zach Vraa, Rosemount

• 2008: Varmah Sonie, Apple Valley

• 2007: Michael Floyd, Cretin-Derham Hall

• 2006: Blake Sorensen, Eden Prairie

• 2005: Matt Carufel, Cretin-Derham Hall

• 2004: Nick Mertens, East Grand Forks