Our Opinion | BrainerdDispatch.com | Brainerd, Minnesota

As an invited guest of the Brainerd Lakes Sunrise Rotary Club yesterday, I was impressed by one of the projects the group has taken on —“Healthy Brains For Children,” (HBFC) which seeks out pregnant mothers-to-be asking them to refrain from drinking alcohol during their pregnancy....

Wed, 03/21/2012 - 4:49pm

Public employees are finding it difficult to convince local, state and federal government that their higher pay and benefits that far outweighs those given to employees in the private sector are fair.

Tue, 03/20/2012 - 3:56pm

Warmer than normal March temperatures is causing some to feel euphoric. Many are out driving our streets and the country back roads to be an eyewitness to an early spring in the lakes region.

Mon, 03/19/2012 - 8:00pm

Once again the Minnesota Vikings' stadium issue is hanging by a political thread.

Sun, 03/18/2012 - 9:27pm

Last week's USA TODAY/Gallup Poll, taken after a U.S. soldier allegedly killed 16 Afghanis, suggests that 50 percent of those polled favor speeding up a withdrawal of all U.S. troops from Afghanistan before the 2014 target pullout date.

Fri, 03/16/2012 - 6:17pm

We all have 'em. Some of us have strong ones, others not so much. It's been said that one's as valid as another. What am I talking about? Opinions, of course. In the last several weeks I have been privileged to write the opinion in this newspaper.

Thu, 03/15/2012 - 5:10pm

Minnesota spent $1.9 billion to help make its citizens live healthier lives. Now, the Minnesota legislative bodies have an eye on ditching the Statewide Health Improvement Program (SHIP).

Wed, 03/14/2012 - 4:31pm

Brainerd, Baxter, Nisswa and most communities in Minnesota have followed the national trend experiencing steep declines in the value of homes. Homes that once sold for $500,000 are now being sold for $250,000. The examples are too numerous to mention.

Tue, 03/13/2012 - 4:15pm

This year's Grand Old Party (GOP) selection of a presidential nominee to run against a sitting president is reminiscent of the good old days when party conventions were mini-dramas played out on black and white televisions around the country.

Mon, 03/12/2012 - 6:53pm

Former Republican presidential candidate and TV evangelist Pat Robertson's has flipped on his stand on legalizing marijuana. The straight-laced preacher's mind-blowing comments were made last Wednesday to the New York Times.

Sun, 03/11/2012 - 9:40pm