Our Opinion | BrainerdDispatch.com | Brainerd, Minnesota

On Thursday, May 31, a vote in the House of Representatives failed to gain 2/3 vote to ban gender selective abortions in the United States. The final vote was 246-168.

Fri, 06/01/2012 - 6:35pm

"America today faces one of the greatest threats to its existence since our founding," writes U.S. Senator Tom Coburn in his chilling new book, "The Debt Bomb.

Thu, 05/24/2012 - 5:12pm

Minnesota is one of 13 states considered as a key battleground state in the November presidential election, according to BBC News.

Wed, 05/23/2012 - 4:52pm

Members of the United Auto Workers (UAW), former allies in the administration's bailout of the auto industry giant General Motors and Chrysler, is claiming the president's proposed budget is an "attack on the middle class.

Mon, 05/21/2012 - 5:36pm

No one likes tightening budgets but when the pain isn't shared equally the sacrifices one group makes is disproportionate. That makes hardships all the more difficult to take.

Sun, 05/20/2012 - 8:13pm

Is anyone listening to the realities of our nation's fiscal health? Please tell me there is someone out there with a grasp on reality.

Thu, 05/17/2012 - 2:55pm

Eighth District Rep. Chip Cravaack wants the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) to be the agency that oversees the licensing of guides on Mille Lacs Lake.

Wed, 05/16/2012 - 8:47pm

Blue skies, a walleye chop and warmer temperatures than most fishing openers. It was one of those weekends that will live in the back of our memory when the snow piles up in January.

Sun, 05/13/2012 - 5:18pm

Last week's elections in France and Greece may spell disaster for the financial future of both nations. France elected an avowed socialist, one Francois Hollande, to replace more conservative Nicolas Sarkozy.

Fri, 05/11/2012 - 8:07pm

Do you ever have conflicts or get mixed messages from your boss? Try having seven bosses with varying priorities and see how well you perform at work.

Thu, 05/10/2012 - 5:58pm