55+ driver improvement program offered | BrainerdDispatch.com | Brainerd, Minnesota

55+ driver improvement program offered

Posted: October 12, 2012 - 9:08pm

55+ driver improvement program offered

The Minnesota Highway Safety Center will be offering a 55+ Driver Improvement Course on the following days: from 1-5 p.m. Oct. 17 (4 hr.), Mills Ford, 14858 Dellwood Drive, Baxter; from 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Oct. 23 (4 hr.), Sacred Heart Catholic Church, 300 First St. N., Hackensack; from 5:30-9:30 p.m. Oct. 23-24 (8 hr.), NJPA, 202 12th St. NE, Staples; from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Oct. 24-25 (8 hr.), Hallett Community Center, 470 Eighth St. NE, Crosby; from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Oct. 26 (8 hr.), Lutheran Church of the Cross, 5064 CR 13, Nisswa; from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Oct. 29 (4 hr.), Walker Area Community Center, 105 Tower Ave., Walker; from 5-9 p.m. Oct. 29-30 (8 hr.), Pequot Lakes School/Community Ed, 30805 Olson St., Pequot Lakes; from noon to 4 p.m. Oct. 30 (4 hr.), Pequot Lakes School/Community Ed., 30805 Olson St., Pequot Lakes; from 5:30-9:30 p.m. Oct. 30 (4 hr.), 6190 Fairview Road W., Baxter; from 5:30-9:30 p.m. Nov. 1 (4 hr.), Crosby-Ironton Senior High/Community Ed., 711 Poplar St., Crosby; from 4-8 p.m. Nov. 7 (4 hr.), Mills Ford, 14858 Dellwood Dr., Baxter; from 5-9 p.m. Nov. 12 (4 hr.), Pequot Lakes School/Community Ed., 30805 Olson St., Pequot Lakes; and from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Nov. 14 (4 hr.), United Methodist Church, Emily.

The Driver Improvement course is open to the public; pre-registration is requested. A MN Highway Safety & Research Center certified instructor teaches this class. By utilizing the most up-to-date research in the field, participants will be provided the latest information in regards to driver safety, new laws, and vehicle technology. The fee for the four hour refresher course is $20 and the eight hour course is $24. For more information or to register, visit our website at www.mnsafetycenter.org or call toll free 888-234-1294.

Persons age 55 and older who complete the course qualify for a 10 percent discount on their auto insurance premiums for three years, according to Minnesota law. First time participants must complete the initial eight hours of training and a four hour refresher class every three years to maintain the 10 percent discount.