Extra Credit-June 18 | BrainerdDispatch.com | Brainerd, Minnesota

Extra Credit-June 18

Posted: June 17, 2012 - 8:12pm

Rachel Ellens, daughter of Paul Ellens of Moorhead and Jennifer Kiffmeyer of Baxter, was recently named to Concordia College’s 2012 Family Weekend Committee. The Family Weekend is an annual event designed to bring family and friends to the Moorhead campus. Ellens is a junior at Concordia.

Kelsey Ketterling received a $4,000 University Scholarship from Minnesota State University Moorhead. Ketterling is the daughter of Cory and Renae Ketterling, Nisswa, and intends to major in mass communications with a photojournalism emphasis.

Maren Goff received a $4,000 University Scholarship from Minnesota State University Moorhead. Goff is the child of Patrick and Beverly Goff, Brainerd, and intends to major in mass communications.

Molly Frick, Walker, recently graduated from the University of Kansas.

Derek Toso, Little Falls, a 2012 graduate of Little Falls Community High School, will attend the University of Minnesota, Morris this fall. Toso is a recipient of the Morris Scholarship, a $5,000 per year scholarship plus a one-time $2,500 scholarly stipend. The scholarship is renewable for up to four years.

Tegan Jo Peterson, Wadena, recently received a law degree from Washington and Lee University School of Law.

Heather “Faith” Palmer, a nontraditional student at Central Lakes College, was awarded a scholarship to the 2012 National Conference for College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL) in Washington, D.C., by the Brainerd branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW). Palmer plans to obtain her associate in arts degree in May 2012, followed by a bachelor’s degree in management with a minor in marketing, in October. She would like to provide consistent communication and ethical leadership and mentorship to others.

The following students were named Team 7D Forestview Middle School STARS of the Trimester for third trimester: Samantha Lyons, Jordan Stahl, Lindsey Jensen, Hailey Bowers, Connor Knettel, Samantha Becker, Evan Schreifels, Lauren Forsythe, Jillian Ewald, Kylee Heurung, Makayla Clough, Ariana Rodahl, Hayley Buchite, Ben Wickman, Taylor Tyrrell and Grant Madison.

Patrick Riewer, Wadena, was named to the Ellsworth Community College spring dean’s list.

Alisha Moritz, Emily, was named to the William Penn University’s dean’s list for the spring 2012 semester.

Oak Hills Christian College in Bemidji named Donette Lair, Motley, to the dean’s list for the spring 2012 semester.