Brainerd Public Schools Foundation awards $12,000 in 4A grants | | Brainerd, Minnesota

Brainerd Public Schools Foundation awards $12,000 in 4A grants

Posted: May 21, 2012 - 8:35pm

The Brainerd Public Schools Foundation (BPSF) awarded nearly $12,000 to Brainerd public schools within the 4A program in 2012. Grants were awarded to the following:

$900 – Transportation assistance, Area Education Center

$700 – Real Readers books, BHS

$900 – ShoeboxTasks Basic Curriculum, K-8th grade

$2,940 – Jr. Great Books, Enrichment Program

$440 – Cozy Corner, Baxter School Readiness

$500 – Books for Families, Early Childhood

$500 – Reading Recovery books, Garfield

$500 – Leveled books, Harrison

$650 – iPad, Forestview Music

$1,100 – Projectors, Harrison

$600 – Greenhouse, Harrison

$500 – Reading Recovery books, Riverside

$500 – Transportation, History Day field trip, Forestview

$570 – High Altitude Balloon Garmin/radios, Forestview

$300 – Summer Library Program, Nisswa Library

$1,050 – Giving Kids Wings, Nisswa

In addition, on May 20, $40,700 in foundation scholarships was awarded to BHS students.

BPSF is in the midst of a campaign to raise additional funds for the 4A grant program. All funds raised will be used in the 4A grant program to the Brainerd School District. The mission of the BPSF is to assist in providing opportunities for quality academics, arts, activities and athletics for students of the Brainerd Public School District.

Monetary contributions may be sent or brought to the foundation, 804 Oak Street, Brainerd, MN 56401, or given online at Donors should note graduating year, if any, for credit toward the class challenge.

Also, BPSF is seeking class lists with contact information for Brainerd graduating classes. To get in touch with a class leader or chairperson email to

The BPSF board of directors consists of: Kevin Thesing, Jill Carlson-Ferrie, Debby Erickson, Michael Doran, Terry McCollough, Angie Nelson, Jennie Pelowski, John Raboin, Don Ryan and Todd Vanek. Ex-officio members include: Jill Neumann, executive director; Pat Altrichter, coordinator; Reed Campbell, school board liaison; and Steve Razidlo, ISD 181 Superintendent.

To learn more about the Brainerd Public Schools Foundation or to make a contribution, go to