Extra Credit - Jan. 30 | BrainerdDispatch.com | Brainerd, Minnesota

Extra Credit - Jan. 30

Posted: January 30, 2012 - 10:07am

Ashley Hillstrom recently received her white coat at a ceremony from the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry. The white coat ceremony marked both her entry into the dental profession as well as her awareness of the need to balance excellence in science with compassionate patient care.

Jonathan E. Keranen, son of Hannah Keranen, Brainerd, recently graduated from NDSU, Fargo, N.D., with a bachelor of science degree in civil engineering.

Saint John’s Prep School recently announced senior Bianca Spalj, daughter of Jane and J.R. Spalj, Deerwood, and 7th grader Maxwell Seymour, son of Matthew and Cassy Seymour, Brainerd, achieved the Headmaster’s Honor Roll for fall semester.

The University of Wisconsin-Superior has named Robert Veith, Brainerd, to the dean’s list for academic achievement in the fall 2011 semester.

Area students named to the fall semester 2011 chancellor’s list at the University of Minnesota, Crookston were recently announced. They include Alexandra Buscher, Merrifield, and Jeremy Sibert, Verndale.

The following NDSU students recently made the dean’s list: Brittany Hanson, Baxter; Erik Aakhus, Sonya Hills, Kimberly LaFond, Daniel Loch, Hannah McAllister, Emma Palm, Allyson Patton and Katie Scholl, Brainerd; Brian Williams, Breezy Point; Kendra Perpich and Matthew Perpich, Crosby; Laura Larson, Crosslake; Samuel Baker, Johanna Christenson, Aaron Kellerman and Lisa Zimmerman, Deerwood; Courtney Collette, East Gull Lake; Gerard Kokett, Callie Krupke, Victoria Nouis, Korby Seward, Tyler Swoboda and Ian Warner, Little Falls; Taylor Headlee and Joshua Rardin, Nisswa; Lance Bragstad, Pequot Lakes; Kimberly Block and Alissa Folger, Pierz; Hannah Barrett, Jared Peterson, Brooke Simonson and Megan Weyer, Staples; Nathan Wiese, Verndale; Hailey Aagard, Bjorn Berg, Samantha Holweger, Mary Pate, Bryan Silvers, Scott Syverson, Jacqueline Tellers, Dennis Theisen and Devon Tucker, Wadena.

The fall semester dean’s list at Gustavus Adolphus College has been released. The following students were named: Courtney Tusler, Brainerd, Nicole Hansen, Deerwood, and Elizabeth Hauer, Little Falls.

Patrick Riewer, Wadena, was named to the Iowa Falls, Iowa, Ellsworth Community College fall dean’s list.

The AEC December 2011 students of the month were Eugene Evenson and Brooke Lorber.

Sean Berens, Brainerd, and Jessica Rarick, Pequot Lakes, were named to the University of Minnesota, Crookston, fall dean’s list.

The following students were named to the St. Cloud State University fall dean’s list: Megan Augustinack, Elena Nicoski, Whitney Thune, Baxter; Charles Arnzen, Elissa Hartwig, Anne Hayes, Katherine Hochsprung, Cassandra Larson, Angie Maurer, Allyson Olshanski, Michael Ouellette, Casey Rowe, Christopher Smolke and Aaron Stegner, Brainerd; Samantha Allen, Crosslake; Michael Hansen and Andrew LaSart, Deerwood; Nellie Goshey and Britta Nelson, Ironton; Janna Baumgartner, Randolph Brisk, Nicholas Ferguson, Heather Gradin, Aaron Johnson, Taylor Johnson, Amanda Kroll, Logan Magnan, Joy Mooney, Jordan Olson and Christina Trettel, Little Falls; Mikhail Brunes and Luke Hamilton, Nisswa; Megan Holderness and Emily Johnson, Pequot Lakes; Samantha Andres, Rachel Bednar, Katie Boser, Katelyn Fuhrman, Maria Janson, Samantha Lucking, Dwight Przybilla and Aaron Schmidtbauer, Pierz; Amber Jensen, Pillager; Travis Nelson, Pine River; and Jordana Pearson, Wadena.

Coryn Deem, daughter of Bill Deem and Juli Sutton-Deem, Brainerd, will be participating in the production of “Very Good Eddie” at Bethany Lutheran College.

Kevin Engholm, Fort Ripley, has been named to the president’s list for the 2011 fall semester at Minnesota State Community and Technical College.

The University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point recently honored Macklin Glasby, Brainerd, Margaret Kenna, Little Falls, and Catie Burkhead, Pequot Lakes, as they were among 2,694 undergraduate students who attained high grade point averages during the fall semester.

Katie Sczublewski, Pierz, recently graduated from Iowa State University.

Kimberly A. Emerson, Little Falls, recently graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point.

Northland College, Ashland, Wis., has named Samantha Stanfield, Deerwood, to the fall dean’s list.